News and Events

Recent News

Descriptive Image
On November 1st, 2017 Professor Atif Memon was awarded the 32nd IEEE/ACM International Conference on Automated Software Engineering 2017 Most Influental Paper (MIP) Award. He has received many...
Join the department on November 4th-5th to celebrate women in computing at Technica, UMD’s all-women's hackathon . Hackathons bring computer programmers and other interested people together to...
Descriptive Image
Matias Duarte '96 has been featured in Surface Magazine in a long-form article entitled " Duarte's Material World ." It addresses his design aesthetic and his role as Google's Vice President of...
Descriptive Image
Mohit Iyyer and Srijan Kumar have been named the 2017 recipients of the Larry S. Davis Doctoral Dissertation Award. This dissertation award recognizes the two most outstanding dissertations completed...
Descriptive Image
Ph.D. students Greg Davis and Matthew Evanusa have been accepted into the 2017 class of the University of Maryland’s COMBINE (Computation and Mathematics for Biological Networks) fellows program...
Assistant Professor Michelle Mazurek and PhD student Doowon Kim have recently been awarded the 5th annual NSA Best Scientific Cybersecurity Paper . Their paper called "You Get Where You're Looking...
Assistant Professor Dave Levin received a Distinguished Paper Award at the 2017 USENIX Security Symposium for his paper entitled "A Longitudinal, End-to-End View of the DNSSEC Ecosystem." Written...
Assistant Professor Marine Carpuat and PhD Student Yogarshi Vyas were awarded the Adam Kilgarriff Best Paper Award at the SEM conference (Joint Conference on Lexical and Computational Semantics) in...

Upcoming Events

Add to My Calendar

Upcoming Talks

11.21.2017 11:00 to 12:00
AVW 4424
Christoph Schulze
11.27.2017 16:00 to 17:00
AVW 4172
Professor Qiang Yang
Hong Kong University
11.29.2017 11:00 to 12:00
AVW 3258
Rebecca Hwa
University of Pittsburgh
11.29.2017 12:00 to 13:00
AVW 3258
Youndo Lee
University of Maryland
12.06.2017 12:00 to 13:00
AVW 3258
Richard Roberts
University of Maryland
12.13.2017 13:00 to 14:00
Hakop Pashayan
University of Sydney
01.24.2018 11:00 to 12:00
Gerardo I. Simari
Universidad Nacional del Sur in Bahia Blanca and CONICET, Argentina